Dr John Henstridge
BSc (Flinders), PhD (ANU), CStat, AStat, AFAIM, QPMR
Managing Director
Chief Consultant Statistician
Vice-President, Statistical Society of Australia
Total Industry Experience: 35+ years

John has over thirty years' experience as a consultant in both industry and academia. Since founding Data Analysis Australia in 1988, John has nurtured a simple idea into the largest private statistical organisation in Australia.  His in-depth and wide ranging knowledge has seen his business use mathematics and statistics as a tool to interpret and produce solutions for an ever changing world.  His emphasis is oriented towards practical applications and the use of modern information technology environments.  These applications include energy and water consumption forecasting, design and analysis of complex surveys, facilities planning and forecasting, experimental design, processing of seismic signals and optimisation and analysis of industrial processes.  John also provides advice as an expert witness in court cases, a sign of his highly regarded qualifications and expertise.John's dedication to the profession has seen him inducted as a Fellow and Chartered Statistician of the Royal Statistical Society, an Accredited Statistician of the Statistical Society of Australia, and as a Quality Practicing Market Researcher (QPMR) through the Australian Market and Social Research Society of Australia.  He has served as President of the Statistical Society of Australia's Western Australian and national branches and of the Geostatistical Association of Australasia and currently serves as National Vice President of the Statistical Society of Australia.  In 2008 he was presented with a Service Award by the Statistical Society of Australia for his work with the Society, particularly in the support given to young statisticians.


Cheryl Praeger
AM, BSc, MSc (Qld.), MSc, DPhil (Oxon.), DSc (UWA), Hon. DSc (PSU), Dr Hon Caus (ULB), FAA, FAustMS, FTICA, AMusA
Winthrop  Professor (UWA)

Cheryl is a Director of Data Analysis Australia and Professor of Mathematics at the University of Western Australia. One of Australia's most prolific mathematicians, in 1999 Cheryl was awarded Membership of the Order of Australia in recognition of her contribution to the discipline in Australia, including her presidency of the Australian Mathematical Society, her contributions to the Australian Mathematics Trust and the Australian Mathematical Olympiad Committee. Between 1989 and 1992 Cheryl was a core member of the Prime Minister's Science Council. From 2007 to 2014 Cheryl served on the Executive Committee of the International Mathematical Union, the peak world body representing mathematics and in 2013 she became Vice President of the International Commission for Mathematical Instruction. In 2007 she received a prestigious ARC Federation Fellowship, the first pure mathematician to receive such a Fellowship.  In December 2009 Cheryl was named WA Scientist of the Year and in November 2012, was selected as an inaugural Fellow of the American Mathematical Society. In 2013 Cheryl was the recipient of the Thomas Ranken Lyle Medal which is awarded by the Australian Academy of Science every second year for "outstanding achievement by a scientist in Australia for research in mathematics or physics", and was made an Honorary Life Member of the Australian Mathematical Society. In 2014 Cheryl's outstanding contributions to the mathematical sciences over an extended period were recognised by the London Mathematical Society by awarding her Honourary Membership and by the Australian Mathematical Society by awarding her the George Szekeres Medal. Cheryl was inducted into the WA Women's Hall of Fame in 2015.